Navanter

Business Skills


Micro-training

UK: +44 (0)20 7164 6959
USA: +1 (617) 431 3011
Knowledge
Bites™ ...a Navanter brand

Free high-quality micro-training from Knowledge Bites

We regularly run free live micro-training for anyone to attend in order to boost skills and knowledge. Here's our current selection...

Live micro-training in English


Creating a culture of innovation

Date & time: Thursday 17th June, 2021, 2pm BST (3pm CET, 9am EST). 1 hour.

It's well known that children are amazingly creative thinkers, but that over time, through the influence of school, further education, and experiences in the workplace, that creativity is stifled and "educated out". We're taught to conform, and for that reason, many of us really struggle to be creative and innovative.

This is a huge problem for businesses, because when a problem rears its head, the natural reaction is to think "how did we solve the last problem" and then tweak that for the new situation. But as the famous quote goes... "If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got." - Albert Einstein - quite a clever chap.

In this 1-hour microtraining, you'll learn some key creativity techniques, and the behaviours needed to foster a culture in which employees are encouraged to think outside the box, yet within the bounds of solid business decision-making.

Sign up here


Storytelling for business people

Date & time: Tuesday 6th July, 2021, 1pm BST (2pm CET, 8am EST). 1 hour.

Storytelling is a vital, and often-envied, skill which we've all appreciated from childhood. The ability to deliver an engaging narrative has been with us from Little Red Riding Hood, right through to the latest films we might watch on a Friday night. And it seems like some people have the gift, whilst others just don't.

In business, storytelling also has a vital place. It's a technique that leaders and employees can use to turn a piece of boring information into something which will really engage the listener. Storytelling can be used to bring an abstract concept to life. And storytelling is what can make a presentation truly memorable.

In this 1-hour workshop, you'll learn the key building blocks of any story, and how to use these building blocks to create your business stories which you can use to become a more engaging, and more effective, professional.

Sign up here


How to Run an Engaging Virtual Meeting

Date & time: Tuesday 15th September, 2021, 2pm BST (3pm CET, 9am EST). 1 hour.

Since the pandemic hit over a year ago, one of the biggest change for many people, is the inability to go to a physical meeting. All the skills people have learnt about creating an entertaining experience, using body lanuage, and engaging participants through the strength of personality, are now much harder to implement.

Yet in the world of virtual meetings, there are a huge number of possibility to create a rich, interactive experience which enable the meeting to shine out against all the other meetings people go to. It might need a different mindset, but it is an easy change to make. And when you consider that many people are holding meetings as a standard Zoom or Teams call, standing out from the crowd is pretty easy to do.

In this 1-hour, highly interactive workshop, you'll experience first-hand some of the tools and techniques which you can put into your tool-kit to make your virtual meetings as engaging as, or even better than, the face-to-face equivalents.

Sign up here


Overcoming Objections to sell your idea internally

Date & time: Tuesday 12th October, 2021, 11am BST (12pm CET, 6am EST - sorry!). 1 hour.

Many salespeople are taught in their early experience of selling, how to handle objections. It's a required skill for salespeople, but something which most other employees don't get a look in on.

But objection handling is something which needs to happen in all areas of business. Someone comes up with a fabulous new idea for an organisation, but because they've never been given the skills to sell the idea internally, the great idea gets dropped, never to resurface.

In this 1-hour interactive workshop, you will learn the difference between different types of objection, how to categorise them into different types, then how to develop a bespoke response by following some broad principles. You will also learn how to deal with objections in collaboration with your colleagues, rather than in opposition.

Sign up here


How to be assertive in the workplace

Date & time: Tuesday 2nd November, 2021, 2pm GMT (3pm CET, 10am EST). 1 hour.

Many employees, particularly those new to the workplace, find assertiveness challenging. Heirarchy is there for a reason, and for many people, pushing back against most experienced colleagues isn't the right thing to do.

Yet this is a problem, because it's often newer employees, who've come with a fresh perspective from another organisation, who have ideas which can be valuable to the business.

In this 1-hour workshop, you'll learn gentle and appropriate assertiveness skills which can be used in any business situation to positively yet respectfully communicate ideas and opinions to others, whilst maintaining an atmosphere of collaboration.

Sign up here


Take Control of Your Career

Date & time: Monday 6th December, 2021, 10am GMT (11am CET, 5am EST - sorry!). 1 hour.

You are a career-driven employee. You have survived one of the most turbulent periods in the history of business. This means that you are not just any employee, but a very talented one. Why not finish the year by thinking about where you have come from, what really excites you about your profession, and give some direction to your career so that you can lead it to where you want it to go.

Many people fall from one job to the next. They perform well, but never quite seem to reach their full potential. Often, this is because they have not taken the time to consider the role, industry and environment which will really enable them to thrive.

In this 1-hour reflective workshop, you will discover what your own motivators are, how to fulfill those motivators in a job role, and how to proactively manage your career to achieve what you're capable of.

Sign up here


What is cash-flow? A guide for the rest of us.

Date & time: Thursday 13th January 2022, 11am GMT (12pm CET, 6am EST - sorry!). 30 minutes.

Take 30 minutes out of your day to learn how cashflow is a vital part of business... explained for non-finance people. This short micro-training is helpful for anyone who could use a little more knowledge of how a business works, and why finance departments do the things they do!
Sign up here

Recorded micro-training in English


How To Use Zoom As A Host

Shortly after coronavirus threw the world into chaos, we ran a number of webinars on how to use Zoom to run meetings, workshops and training courses online. They were very informal, and an opportunity to share thoughts with others, see Zoom's functionality and how to harness it, and try some things out live online. Here's the video from one of those sessions, and our Zoom cheat sheet.
View it here

Take Control Of Your Career

In this 60-minute session, we look at how to take a proactive role in your career journey, what the single toughest obstacle is to career satisfaction (and how to overcome it), and how to plan for your own success.
View it here

How Project Managers Can Collaborate With The Sales Team To Delight The Customer

A webinar from our parent brand, Navanter, this popular topic has been featured on project management websites as far away as Kenya. There's a growing realisation that project managment and sales teams should work more closely together - here's how it's done.
View it here

Micro-training en français


Coming soon...